Playing Catch Up.

OK So lots of stuff has been happening since my last post.

First off. I am no longer at Anonymous Tattoo. The wife and I moved back to New England. Massachusetts specifically. It wasn’t for lack of anything at Anonymous. That shop is still top notch in my book, and the people there are still some of my favorite people and tattooers in the world. I owe them everything. Ricky, Clay, Zack and Kim, Thanks for everything.

If any of you reading this find yourself in Savannah GA, do yourself a favor and get tattooed by these dudes, or at least visit the shop. It’s a great place to feel inspired.

Before I left Savannah I attended the State of Grace convention in San Fransisco this year. I didn’t work it, I just went to it. Such and amazing time. Thanks to Taki for putting it on. It was a blast and I got to see a zillion great things. I tattooed a few friends out of the hotel room just to make some spending money and man did I ever spend it. The new flash set from EriK Gillespie is so worth it. Such a nice dude. Got to shake hands with some people that I had thus far only conversed with via the internerd and that was a great experience. Thanks to Nick, and Mario from CTC, Bill Waverly, and Matt Diehl, Doug Hardy, Chad Koeplinger, Danny Reed, Jason Scott, Robert Ryan and everyone else that I got a chance to sit around and chew the fat with. I bought a shit ton of stuff and thoroughly enjoyed myself.

So this year I’m trying to just be on the road. Guest spots and conventions. In Massachusetts I will be doing regular spots at Broad St. Tattoo in Bridgewater. I’ve done a few spots there before and while it’s a bit of a hike from where I live,  they always treat me great so I feel loyal to them.

I am also going to be doing regular guest spots at Three Kings in Brooklyn. I worked there for about a week last month and found the shop and the people there welcoming, helpful, and extreeeemely inspiring.  I highly recommend that shop to anyone wanting to get tattooed in NY. I look forward to being part of the family there.

Also, I just attended the Brighton Tattoo convention in England. My first time over seas, and while it was an amazing experience, I think next time I fly overseas I’m going to have to take a few extra days before the event so I can adjust to the jet lag. I felt like I was walking around in a dream the whole time. Special thanks and appreciation goes out to Lizzie, Adrian, and Hayden from Speakeasy Tattoo in Toronto for making the whole thing possible. I can’t wait to come out and see those dudes at the end of the month.

For those that would like a tattoo please email me at rhwellstattoo@gmail.com.

My immediate schedule is as follows:

Feb 4,5,6. Philly convention. Come by and say hello.

Feb 11th – 15th. Three Kings Brooklyn.

Beginning of March, Anonymous Tattoo in Savannah.

Mid March will likely be split between Broad St and Hobo’s/Congress St in Portsmouth NH.

March  26th , 27th Scottish Tattoo Convention, Edinburgh, Scotland.

April I think is Portland Or, and Montreal.

And now with the pics!

A few tattoos from my SF visit:

Some of the last tattoos I did at Anonymous:

From spots at Broad St.

Here’s some from my Brooklyn visit.

Here’s a shot of the inside of Three Kings:

The only tattoo from the Brighton Convention that I got a decent photo of.

My convention banner:

Some “in progress” stuff:

This is on my friend Jhon. I’ve tattooed him a billion times, and he’s become a good friend and a great client. Thanks, dude.

This is on my friend Tom. I’ve known Tom for years. Glad we reconnected over this. Thanks, dude!

Tom with the half done line drawing.

First session:

Second Session:

Thanks for looking. Hope you enjoyed.

2 Responses to “Playing Catch Up.”

  1. Glad to see you blogging again…the update on your current work is stellar. I’m also about to vomit cause you just left The Bay Area coming from the SOG convention…any chance your coming back to Cali in your travels soon/soonish…anywhere? Or am I gonna have to catch you up in Portland?

  2. Hi Ron, I just read that you will be attending the Scottish tattoo convention and was wondering how you go about getting an appointment with yourself, if you will have flash to choose a design from and, please accept my apologies if this sounds crass, what kind of prices you will be charging.
    I don’t mean to be rude by asking, but I really like your art and am considering getting my first tattoo but never thought that I would get the opertunity to get something from yourself.
    Please forgive the noob questions, and once again please accept my apologiese if I sounded rude or crass in any way asking questions about price. It is wholeheartedly unintenional.

    All the best

    Ed:)

Leave a Reply

